Tags

, , ,

Image

Prayer is one of my most favorite times.  Not only does it signal a time when I can quiet my mind, relax from the stress of whatever else is going on and just “be,” but it also is a time for me to connect and check in with God.  To be in communion with the Lord and dialogue.  Sometimes I may do the talking, at other times I remain still and let God speak to me.  What I have come to know in my times of prayer is that there are no rules; there is no restriction to what God and I can share.  Whatever is going on in my life, I can turn to God, know that I am safe, and feel I am heard.  There is no big or little to God.  We need to get past the idea that “this thing is big and maybe God can’t do it,” and “this thing is small, so, of course God can handle that.”  There is no sliding scale to what God can create and God doesn’t watch the polls for the latest trends.  How comforting to know that not only does God always hear our prayers, but in answering them God can do ever so much more than we could have imagined.  I have found that as I pray it helps to say, “this God, or something better.”  Don’t limit God to what you think is possible, but, with gratitude, stand in awe of all that God can do.

I have a lapel pin that says, “Try God.”  Sounds pretty good to me.

    “God is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine.”    (Ephesians 3:20)

 Affirmation:  “Thank you God for miracles seen and yet unseen, and for your son Christ Jesus, who gently leads us to where we need to be.” 

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

 We live our lives one thought at a time.  Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life.  Please join us each Sunday at 5:30 PM in our Social Hall at First Christian Church, North Hollywood, CA for our Contemporary Celebration and Praise service. Come as you are and enjoy an hour of great music from our wonderful band and singers, inspiring messages and good fellowship. Those things in life that you have been seeking have also been seeking you. Now is a good time to receive them.

Also, join me on Wednesday evenings from 7 to 8 PM for an hour of guided and silent meditation, reflection, affirmation and prayer.  As always, we will share communion together.  Everyone is welcome.

First Christian Church, North Hollywood, 4390 Colfax Avenue, Studio City, CA 91604. http://www.fccnh.org

 

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeker

 

     

 

 

