Tags

, , , , , , ,

Image     

            I have often heard it said, “I was praying for some time when I suddenly had the awareness that at long last God heard me.”  Did God at last open an ear to hear?  Did we finally wear God down until God had no choice but to listen to our pleas?

            Perhaps a better revelation for us should be that in our prayers and meditations suddenly we heard God.  Suddenly the wall between us had been broken down and the current of God energy and awareness was able to break through.  It’s not that we have had to wait in a long line for God to get around to offering us God’s grace and blessing, but that we were finally coming to God with the openness to see what has already been there.  Our fears and our anxiety that we would be heard have at long last melted away, and as they have we have opened that glorious space for Spirit to come in. 

            We sing a beautiful hymn of the church, “Open My Eyes, That I May See.”  In this hymn we are really opening our conscious awareness to that which has always been before us.  We are believing first so that indeed we may see, not waiting until we see before we can believe.  For a lifetime we have had it backwards.  We have often thought, or said, “I’ll believe it when I see it.”  Better we should affirm, “I’ll see it when I believe it.”

            “I was praying and at long last I got out of my way so that the joy and perfection of a God who knows only good could be revealed to me.”  Now we’re talking!!

“The only thing that counts is faith working through love.”   (Galatians 5: 6b)

Affirmation:  “Today I open myself to a new awareness of Spirit right where I am.  The joy and perfection of God is revealed to me.” 

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

We live our lives one thought at a time.  Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

 

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life.  Please join us each Sunday at 5:30 PM in our Social Hall at First Christian Church, North Hollywood, CA for our Contemporary Celebration and Praise service. Come as you are and enjoy an hour of great music from our wonderful band and singers, inspiring messages and good fellowship. Those things in life that you have been seeking have also been seeking you. Now is a good time to receive them.

 

Also, join me on Wednesday evenings from 7 to 8 PM for an hour of guided and silent meditation, reflection, affirmation and prayer.  As always, we will share communion together.  Everyone is welcome.

First Christian Church, North Hollywood, 4390 Colfax Avenue, Studio City, CA 91604. http://www.fccnh.org

 

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeker

 

 

 

 

