Tags

, , , , , ,

 Image

 “For I do not seek to understand so that I may believe; but I believe so that I may understand.  For I believe this also, that ‘unless I believe, I shall not understand.”’   (Anselm of Canterbury)     

Do something for me after you finish reading this.  Close your eyes, become conscious of your breathing, and relax.  Let go of everything that is chattering about in your mind.  Your breathing can help you do this.  Now, visualize an angel of the Lord before you.  Angels have long been God’s messengers and have brought to the faithful direction, encouragement and hope.  So, with your eyes closed, and in the silence, or with some meditative music, visualize this messenger of God bringing to you the answers that you seek.  See this angel bringing you words from the Christ that can answer your needs, nurture your spirit and heal your body. If you have questions, or prayer concerns, ask them.  Spend some time and just allow this angel to minister to you. Take all the time you need for there is never a hurry. Then, when you are comfortable and feel you have received what the angel would have you to know, slowly, and still being aware of your breathing, open your eyes.  As you do so affirm that whatever you needed to know is now within you.  Even though at this precise moment you may not be able to articulate the message, know that at the proper time it will be revealed to you.  Do this often.  It will get easier with practice and your communication with the divine will set before you a new course that will forever change your life.

Affirmation:  “I believe so that I may understand.  I receive all that I need from an abundant God and my life is good.”

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

We live our lives one thought at a time.  Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life.  Please join us each Sunday at 5:30 PM in our Social Hall at First Christian Church, North Hollywood, CA for our Contemporary Celebration and Praise service. Come as you are and enjoy an hour of great music from our wonderful band and singers, inspiring messages and good fellowship. Those things in life that you have been seeking have also been seeking you. Now is a good time to receive them.

Also, join me on Wednesday evenings from 7 to 8 PM for an hour of guided and silent meditation, reflection, affirmation and prayer.  As always, we will share communion together.  Everyone is welcome.

First Christian Church, North Hollywood, 4390 Colfax Avenue, Studio City, CA 91604. http://www.fccnh.org

 

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeker

 

