Tags

, , , , , , ,

Image

All too often it can seem that the weight of the world is upon our shoulders. We get so consumed with what is not going right in our lives that we become completely focused on only those things. Our check book is anemic, our relationships are having challenges, our work place is not going as we had hoped and we seem to be continually passed by for new opportunities, our health is having challenges and we just can’t seem to see how things are ever going to look any differently. All we seem to be able to recognize are those things in life we label as “wanting.” There may be good things going on, we just can’t see them because of the fog. This is not to make us feel even worse, but it can be a wake up call and a place from which we can begin to turn the corner.

If we were on a ship and the starboard side of the ship was heavy with weight and the ship was starting to list to one side we may decide that it was the best time to take on some ballast. Add some weight to the other side in order to bring things back into balance. To set things right. When our circumstances seem out of sorts and our lives are listing in a negative direction we can add some ballast by affirming the presence of God and Christ in our lives. We can begin to little by little shift our awareness from what we see as wrong to something we can affirm is right. As we begin to shift our thinking to God, and that God is even now sending us Spirit’s Divine Presence we can re-balance, we can begin to see our lives change. We can affirm that the answers we seek from God are right now known in the mind of God and they are now becoming manifest for us in a way that we can recognize and experience them.

I think when I am feeling out of balance that is the best time to stop, reflect, meditate and do some evaluation about the direction of my thinking. Often at this point I discover that my thoughts have been focused mostly on what is wrong and not enough on what is right. What I affirm is that God is always right where I am at every moment. I have not then, nor have I ever been forsaken. I also know I can never be forsaken for God loves me unconditionally. That unconditionally part is really something powerful to think about. I also know that when I shift my thinking to God I begin to see things in a new light. In the midst of whatever heaviness I may be experiencing God is there to take the burden, lighten my load, and help me return to greater balance.

Easy? Not always. Does it take some practice? You bet. Worth it? You tell me.

“When Jesus entered the house, the blind men came to him; and Jesus said, Do you believe that I am able to do this? They said to him, Yes, Lord.” (Matthew 9: 28)

Affirmation: “The presence of the Christ in my life is the balance I need to make all things shine with perfection.” 

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life. Please join us each Sunday at 5:30 PM in our Social Hall at First Christian Church, North Hollywood, CA for our Contemporary Celebration and Praise service. Come as you are and enjoy an hour of great music from our wonderful band and singers, inspiring messages and good fellowship. Those things in life that you have been seeking have also been seeking you. Now is a good time to receive them. We will lift one another to live exciting, abundant new lives of possibility and purpose.

Also, join me on Wednesday evenings from 7 to 8 PM for an hour of guided and silent meditation, reflection, affirmation and prayer. As always, we will share communion together. Everyone is welcome.

First Christian Church, North Hollywood, 4390 Colfax Avenue, Studio City, CA 91604. http://www.fccnh.org

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeker

 

