Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Image

The unspeakable and tragic horrors of gun violence and hate crimes that are all too often in the news can certainly challenge our faith. How do we, as Christians, as people of faith, even begin to make sense of these events? How could the Disciples of Jesus have made sense of what they witnessed as the Christ experienced a horrific and brutal Roman execution? When the Disciples, in the first century, looked at the horror that was visited upon the Christ, and when we, in the twenty-first century, look at our most recent tragedies, what hope could we ever begin to find?

We find our hope, as did our ancient brethren, in the resurrected presence of the Christ who reminds us that the power of God is always greater than the powers of this world.

I am deeply troubled and upset when I see the brutality on which humans treat other humans. Those who are cynical and like to throw our faith in our faces, because they have not allowed themselves to understand the power of God, have said to me, “so, where was your God when all of this horror was happening?” And I am here to tell you what I said to them, God was the first responder on that scene. I know that not because it is my job to know that, but because it is my life to know that. I have no life other than knowing that. I want no life other than knowing that.

God is always right where we are with a healing presence that affirms this prefect Spirit to comfort and sustain us, to bless us, and to forever give us a renewed sense of hope. To my cynical friends I have to ask, wouldn’t you love to receive such a beautiful gift? You can, if you will allow it to flow to you with a receiving heart.

In the Jewish Talmud we read: “During the midst of the darkest night, act as though morning has already come.” God has not, does not, and will never forsake us. In the midst of whatever we may be going through God’s Divine, Perfect, and Loving presence is right there to reveal renewed hope, healing and forgiveness.  God will always have the last word.

“I will give you the keys to the kingdom of heaven.” (Matthew 16: 19)

“Peace be with you.” (John 20: 19b)

Affirmation: “The perfect flow of Spirit/God is the firm foundation of my life. I joyfully take my place as a proud resident of God’s Spiritual Kingdom.”                           

Rev. Jefferson Beeper 

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index 

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life. Please join us each Sunday at 5:30 PM in our Social Hall at First Christian Church, North Hollywood, CA for our Contemporary Celebration and Praise service. Come as you are and enjoy an hour of great music from our wonderful band and singers, inspiring messages and good fellowship. Those things in life that you have been seeking have also been seeking you. Now is a good time to receive them. We will lift one another to live exciting, abundant new lives of possibility and purpose.

Also, join me on Wednesday evenings from 7 to 8 PM for an hour of guided and silent meditation, reflection, affirmation and prayer. As always, we will share communion together. Everyone is welcome.

First Christian Church, North Hollywood, 4390 Colfax Avenue, Studio City, CA 91604. http://www.fccnh.org

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeker

 

