Tags

, , , ,

Image

Not long ago in a worship leader magazine there was an advert for some worship resources and one in particular had a picture of a computer flash drive and the words, “Worship In A Flash.” On this flash drive were resources that church leaders can use in their planning of prayers, songs, sermons, and litanies, for Advent. This is probably a wonderful resource, but that title, “Worship In A Flash,” got me thinking. I will confess that preachers tend to always see things in a theological way and I guess that is just the way we become wired after seminary. So, thinking about Worship In A Flash made me think about how we approach our time of worship on Sundays. Do we think of it as just an hour or so that we spend in fellowship with friends, maybe hear some words that touch us for the moment, sing a few songs that maybe lift us up, and then move off and never give it another thought throughout the week? Or, do we allow our time of worship, or devotions, for that matter, to move us in a way that resonates with us throughout the coming days? I would never want to Worship In A Flash; I want to savor every moment spent with the Living Spirit present with me. Each moment with God is golden, and each moment builds, one upon another, to enrich and uplift our lives. We can approach our time of worship and devotion with a new intention, one that affirms our walk of faith and love for the Christ. We can dwell in those moments with God and really make them a special part of who we are.

Worship In A Flash? Not me. My relationship with God is far too important to take it that lightly.

“Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth, Worship the Lord with gladness; come into his presence with thanksgiving.”

(Psalm 100: 1)           

 

Affirmation: “My time with Spirit is golden and I savor each moment of this beautiful relationship.”

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index

 

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

 

