Tags

, , , , ,

“Do not fear, only believe.” (Mark 5: 36)

Do you ever feel as though on your walk through life that you are taking two steps forward, one step back? Or even on some occasions, one step forward and two steps back? Life often seems so random as we strive to move to the next positive thing we wish to experience. We can easily get discouraged and give up. The gospel writer Mark quotes Jesus as saying, “Do not fear, only believe.”

Okay, I know you are thinking, well that’s not always easily said in the midst of our “stuff.” And that is true. Those two steps back and one step forward times can be pretty discouraging. However, what I have come to believe is that even when life seems to be taking one or two steps backward, and we seem to be loosing ground, is that God is still a God who is right where we are. These are times when some inner reflection and self-examination can be helpful as we seek to take that next step forward. Maybe we can use this time to decide what our next decision should be, or just to say to God, “Okay, I know you are here with me, so you tell me what to do next.” You want to know something? God will let you know. It could be that you are not ready for the next forward step, or maybe the direction of that next step needs to be reconsidered. Or maybe you need to catch your breath, or “catch your faith.” What we can know is that we need never fear for God is walking with us, directing us.

In my life I have had times when I felt as though I was at a stalemate. What I thought was the direction I was to take was just not working out. Maybe it even did for a while and I thought I should continue to pursue that direction, but something had changed. In order to experience the next thing in my life I needed to do some deep reflection as to what my next step should be. I had been working in the entertainment industry for a long time and suddenly, not only were things slowing down for me, but the joy had gone out of my even working in that area. I had thought to myself, “I can’t continue like this for the rest of my life, there must be something else I am meant to do.” During my reflection time it became clear to me that I always thought I would like to go into the ministry. From an early age I thought that, but early on my desire to work in entertainment seemed to be moving forward, so that is what I did. And besides, at that time I thought I could never measure up to the examples of minister’s I had in my childhood. Now, suddenly as my life was shifting, I thought again about ministry. Now the challenge was how to pay for seminary. As I trusted God I prepared for a new and exciting change. Soon, all the details of seminary began to come together in a miraculous way. I was led to the San Francisco Theological Seminary, the perfect school for me, and scholarships and grants appeared which would allow me to graduate without any debt. What had at first seemed as steps being taken backward was in reality all preparation for moving into something I truly love, enjoy and find thrilling.

“Do not fear, only believe.”  Keep your gaze on what you truly wish to experience, a life a fulfillment, joy and happiness, knowing that God will get you there even when your steps seem to take a different direction than you expected.

Affirmation: “Healing light moves through me and out into the world today to anoint each new step I take.”

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life. Please join us each Sunday at 5:30 PM in our Social Hall at First Christian Church, North Hollywood, CA for our Contemporary Celebration and Praise service. Come as you are and enjoy an hour of great music from our wonderful band and singers, inspiring messages and good fellowship. Those things in life that you have been seeking have also been seeking you. Now is a good time to receive them. We will lift one another to live exciting, abundant new lives of possibility and purpose.

Also, join me on Wednesday evenings from 7 to 8 PM for an hour of guided and silent meditation, reflection, affirmation and prayer. As always, we will share communion together. Everyone is welcome. We are an open and affirming congregation.

First Christian Church, North Hollywood, 4390 Colfax Avenue, Studio City, CA 91604. http://www.fccnh.org

 

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeker

 

