Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I love you, O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my deliverer, my God, my rock in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.”   (Psalm 18: 1-3

It is right that, like the Psalmists, we would send praise to our God for the magnificent blessings we receive. To begin our time of prayer, reflection or meditation by focusing our thoughts on praising the one in whom all things are possible is a powerful way to make our connection with God meaningful. As in all things in our life that which we praise increases in our experience as that is what we are focusing upon. Praise is a powerful form of affirmation that directs our attention and intention to seeing God working in, through, and as our lives.

As we read through the book of Psalms in the Bible words of praise stand out as an ongoing theme. The majesty and glory of God working in our lives, meeting our needs and giving us new hope and a sense of greater possibility, forever speaks to us as a mighty demonstration of Gods great unconditional love. God pours out a blessing upon us in a never ending flow of grace and a continual energy of creative wonder. Even in times of struggle, when we are hurting and life seems to be moving for us in a negative direction, our words of praise to God can help us to lift up from those stressful experiences and see the new light that glows before us.

When we read, “Bless the Lord, O my soul! O Lord my God, thou art very great! Thou art clothed with honor and majesty,” (Psalm 104:1) how can we not be stirred by God’s wonderful and powerful presence in our lives. God is always available to us and always anxious for us to connect and have communion together.

I have often said, and written, that we live our lives one thought at a time and that we must let each of those thoughts count for something beautiful in our life. Our thoughts and words of praise to God awaken in us a new truth and a new spirit. Our tomorrow begins right now. It begins with the direction our belief is taking. Praising God, as did the Psalmists, is an effective way in moving us in a new direction to experiencing God’s presence right where we are at this and every moment.

Affirmation: “I will praise the Lord at all times; God’s praise shall continually be in my mouth.” (Psalm 34: 1)

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life.

Please join us each Sunday for our SpiritSong service at 5:30 PM in our Social Hall at First Christian Church, North Hollywood, CA. This Contemporary Celebration and Praise service is an hour of great music from our wonderful band and singers, inspiring messages and good fellowship. Those things in life that you have been seeking have also been seeking you. Now is a good time to receive them. We will lift one another to live exciting, abundant new lives of possibility and purpose.

Also, join me on Wednesday evenings from 7 to 8 PM for an hour of guided and silent meditation, reflection, affirmation and prayer. As always, we will share communion together. Everyone is welcome. We are an open and affirming congregation.

First Christian Church, North Hollywood, 4390 Colfax Avenue, Studio City, CA 91604. http://www.fccnh.org

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeker

