Tags

, , , , , , ,

Great quote: “If I miss a day of practice I know it. If I miss two days, my manager knows it. If I miss three days, my audience knows it.” – Andre Previn, pianist, conductor, and composer.

If we miss a day of connecting with God we may not notice it, but if we continue to miss communicating with God we will soon feel that something important is missing in our lives. We may begin to slow down, our faith and trust in things working out for us may begin to lag. We may soon become more fearful and worry about things that would otherwise not burden us so. Each day that we fail to renew our spiritual energy makes us think we have to go through everything alone, that it is through our own efforts that life is lived.

I know for myself that a failure to keep my connection with God strong results in a lack of clarity and insight. It is as if a life-line has been pulled and the energy of truth and power than sustains me slowly is drained. Soon I realize that I am missing out on something wonderful.

People of faith can know that God loves them and that God is there for them every moment, but when we cut off, or slow, the flow of spiritual energy in our lives we begin to miss out on new revelations of spirit that can help us to understand those things we are experiencing today. Truth is truth and God’s truth is always with us, but we can miss out on the fullness of God acting in our lives when we fail to keep that connection open and strong.

Just like a musician must practice to keep their skills sharp continuing to keep our prayer life active will help us to remain positive, to see the affirmative side of life and to know that God is always right where we are.

“Open my eyes, so that I may recognize wondrous things out of your law.”     (Psalm 119: 18)

Affirmation: “Thank you God for always being available for consultation. It really makes a difference.”  

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life.

Please join us each Sunday for our SpiritSong service at 5:30 PM in our Social Hall at First Christian Church, North Hollywood, CA. This Contemporary Celebration and Praise service is an hour of great music from our wonderful band and singers, inspiring messages and good fellowship. Those things in life that you have been seeking have also been seeking you. Now is a good time to receive them. We will lift one another to live exciting, abundant new lives of possibility and purpose.

Also, join me on Wednesday evenings from 7 to 8 PM for an hour of guided and silent meditation, reflection, affirmation and prayer. As always, we will share communion together. Everyone is welcome. We are an open and affirming congregation.

First Christian Church, North Hollywood, 4390 Colfax Avenue, Studio City, CA 91604. http://www.fccnh.org

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeker

