Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

ThomasCircle

“I will thank you forever, because of what you have done. In the presence of the faithful I will proclaim your name, for it is good.” (Psalm 52: 9)

My mother’s mother, my beloved grandmother, was perhaps my best friend when I was growing up. I loved spending time at her apartment, taking a taxi to church at National City Christian Church on Sunday mornings and, before we walked across Thomas Circle for Sunday School, stopping in the hotel across from the church for breakfast. We on occasion traveled together in the summers on the train around the country, and I always loved hearing her stories about working in the Pentagon during World War II.  She was a remarkable woman who touched my life deeply.

When my grandmother died we went through her apartment and we all picked out items that had been special to her and that would forever be treasured keepsakes for each of us. My grandmother, who was always impeccably dressed, loved purses and had, what seemed to me, quite a collection. What we discovered was that in the bottom of every one of those purses she had placed a penny. One penny in each purse. I remembered later that on one of our special days to luncheon together, usually at the Peoples Drug Store lunch counter on Dupont Circle, which she loved, she was beautifully dressed as always with hat and gloves and I probably looked as preppy as ever (not much has changed). During our conversation she showed me the single penny in the bottom of the purse and explained why it was there. It reminded her of the Great Depression years when things were lean and how God had walked with her through those dark times and blessed her. She said that as long as she had that penny in the bottom of her purse she knew she would never be broke, that she was abundant, that God was always providing all that she needed and things were good. Her example of being thankful for even the little things has always stayed with me. She taught me that our gratitude opens the door for us to see even more blessings all around us.

An attitude of gratitude is a phrase I often hear and, though it may seem like a simple idea, when we practice it, it becomes a life changer. Our focus on life shifts to the blessings of God and the fullness of God’s love for us. When we begin to focus on the seed of possibility in our lives we create a powerful starting point to experiencing renewed growth in our faith. What may seem a simple shift in our thinking to the recognition and understanding of God right where we are at every moment, is in reality a beautiful prayer unto itself. A prayer of trust and a wonderful prayer of gratitude.

Affirmation: “I am forever supported by God’s unconditional love and grace.”

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life.

