Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

“Seek the Lord and his strength, seek his presence continually.” (1 Chronicles 16:11)                 

Recently I was transferring some music from vinyl disks into my itunes. One of the recordings I had was from our church choir when I was growing up. In youth choir we used to sing a song that has always stayed in my mind. It began with a soprano solo and I love hearing my dear friend Kathy’s glorious youthful voice singing forth, “Seek ye the Lord, that he may be found, call ye upon him while he is near.” I think about this song quite often, not just the melody, but also the meaning of the lyrics. I also think about the scripture, “When I was child I thought as a child.” In my youth, even though this song ministered to me with a wonderful message, I heard the lyric about a God who perhaps was distant; that I needed to seek the Lord in a way that made sure I didn’t miss this beautiful presence while it was close at hand. In the Old Testament we often read of the Lord’s presence “passing by,” and that the faithful needed to make our requests known to God in those special times.

As I have come to re-examine this lyric, and certainly the scripture, I now understand that God is forever near, for God is right where we are at every moment. Earlier in the scripture from 1 Chronicles it refers to the covenant God made with Abraham. It is a covenant that God is with us always and our seeking the Lord’s presence is as easy as turning our thoughts to Spirit’s Divine fullness. When we turn, when we seek, we do indeed find that sweet presence of the Divine. It is a presence that binds us and all peoples to Spirit. Jewish, Muslim and Christian, all descendants of Abraham, but this is also meant to include all those who are the unique and special creation of God. We are each and every one of us a vital part of the mosaic of God’s heavenly kingdom here on earth.

Seek the Lord that Spirit may be found, deep within you, and seek knowing that you find the complete fullness of God’s possibility and grace right where you are at every moment. God has been waiting for you. We must make the decision to show up in faith.

Affirmation: “I need look no further than right where I am to find the wonderful presence of perfect Spirit/God.”

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life.

Please join us each Sunday for our SpiritSong service at 5:30 PM in our Social Hall at First Christian Church, North Hollywood, CA. This Contemporary Celebration and Praise service is an hour of great music from our wonderful band and singers, inspiring messages and good fellowship. Those things in life that you have been seeking have also been seeking you. Now is a good time to receive them. We will lift one another to live exciting, abundant new lives of possibility and purpose.

Also, join me on Wednesday evenings from 7 to 8 PM for an hour of guided and silent meditation, reflection, affirmation and prayer. As always, we will share communion together. Everyone is welcome. We are an open and affirming congregation.

First Christian Church, North Hollywood, 4390 Colfax Avenue, Studio City, CA 91604. http://www.fccnh.org

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeker

