Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

You show me the path of life. In your presence there is fullness of joy.” (Psalm 16: 11)

“Spirit, what would you have me do? In this moment, in the quiet, I surrender to you.”  (lyric, Joanne O’Brien)

Recently I discovered a major advantage to changing my morning routine. I had a habit of after getting my morning coffee sitting down at the computer, answering emails both personal and church related, looking through Facebook and Twitter and reading the news online. After this I would finally sit for some moments of quiet reflection and meditation before getting ready to leave the house and begin my day. Of course what I have discovered is that by the time I sat to meditate my mind was filled with things to do and news events that wanted to dominate my thinking.

So, I now have a new routine that has proven to be a major life-changer. Before doing anything else I sit in the quiet of the morning hours, pray, and through a practice called “mindfulness,” sit in the quiet, aware of my breathing and dwelling only on that present, conscious moment. Being in the silence, first thing in the morning, before doing anything else, has allowed me to beautifully melt into that silence with God and surrender into the power of Spirit right where I am.

Keeping ourselves in the present while meditating is a powerful way to open us up to experiencing God moving in our lives at that very moment. Yes, ideas and thoughts will come to us. Some of these we may want to act upon later and this quiet time has been a blessing in giving us order to the day ahead, but above all this is an opportunity to fully be in the presence of the Divine. To fully experience God as each breath fills us with oxygen and the energy of truth. We are each and every one of us a powerful part of God’s universe and each day has been created masterfully by God for our full experience of its wonder. Spending time in the quiet first thing each morning, before anything else grabs our attention, can be a meaningful way in experiencing this Perfect Spirit in all of its perfection and truth.

Affirmation: “When I surrender myself into the presence of Perfect God I discover amazing gifts of the Spirit.”

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life.

