Tags

, , , , , , , ,

“Praise the Lord! I will give thanks to the Lord with my whole heart.’” (Psalm 111: 1)

One of my favorite songs that we sing at our SpiritSong Contemporary worship service is “How Great Is Our God.” It reminds me of a response I would always receive from a classmate of mine when I was in seminary. Whenever I would greet Rosalyn and ask how she was doing she would respond with “How great is our God!” She never failed to respond in this way and it always impressed me. She would begin to sing this song, I would join in, and pretty soon as other students arrived for class they too would pick up the song and we would all be singing at the top of our voices praising God.

As I became better acquainted with her I learned that she is a cancer survivor. She had been told that if she ever survived the cancer she would never walk again. To see her now you would never know she had been ill. Her husband, who was some years her senior, was in a nursing home and not expected to live very long. She prayed that he would last long enough to see her graduate, which he did. She knew she would be raising their 13 year-old son alone. The AME church had just assigned her to a congregation the current bishop had written off as dying, so why not give it to a woman minister? Nothing to lose. She was also taking a double course load so she could graduate with the rest of her classmates. And yet, whenever I asked Rosalyn how she was doing her response was always, “How great is our God!” Never have I seen such faith in a person. Never have I seen God move so beautifully through another’s life. She truly believes in what she proclaims, how great indeed is our God! She has turned her congregation around and it is growing. From such faith miracles are indeed born and thrive. She invited me to speak at her church one Sunday evening and I saw her faith and this beautiful church in action. I was inspired!

Throughout our lives we can proclaim the greatness of God and in doing so we can open our eyes to experience that power moving in all aspects of our lives.

Affirmation: “With my every breath today I proclaim, ‘How great is our God’.”

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life.

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeker

