Tags

, ,

One of my favorite movies, and I will confess to watching it at any time of the year, especially in mid-summer when the weather is hot, hot, hot, is “White Christmas.” You all know the movie. The producers went through the catalogue of Irving Berlin songs, created a flimsy story to weave them all together and created a classic.

One of my favorite songs in this film is “Count Your Blessings.”

When I’m worried and I can’t sleep

I count my blessings instead of sheep and I fall asleep counting my blessings

When my bankroll is getting small I think of when I had none at all

And I fall asleep counting my blessings.

This lyric has a powerful message and I have to think that when Mr. Berlin was writing it he thought back to his early days of struggle on the lower Eastside of New York City, living as an emigrant and just trying to get by day to day. In the midst of the life he was living at that time stopping to count his blessings had to seem a bit daunting. Daunting – but powerful.

Our recognition of our blessings is powerful. It sets for us a new course, one that before our recognition of those blessings was unknown to us.  When we stop to count our blessings we are moving our consciousness to seeing the abundance that we have.

Fall asleep counting your blessing and you will wake in the morning still counting your blessings. It is amazing how that works, but it does.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life.

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeker

 

