Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Let your adornment be the inner self with the lasting beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is very precious in God’s sight.”      (1 Peter 3: 4)

So often one of my electronic devices throws me a curve. Suddenly (and to me, without any involvement on my part) things get haywire and the device is no longer doing what I need it to do. It’s frustrating and I often think, “doesn’t this stupid electronic, inanimate object know what I want it to do?” Eventually I laugh when I realize I am talking out loud to this device as if that will make it respond. (Are you listening Apple? Could they really do that if I upgrade?)

My solution when this happens is often then, out of my frustration, just to re-boot. I let the device go through its process and re-set all of the settings. Usually then I am now ready to go, to continue on with the project at hand.

It has occurred to me that these inanimate devices have come to teach me a thing or two about life, living and spiritual connection. In those times when life gets a bit crazy, when there seems to be more decisions that need to be made than I can handle at the moment, or more tasks that need to be done all with a sense of urgency, I realize I too may need to re-boot. That is the time to stop and take a mini-Sabbath break. It’s not always easy to stop in the midst of “turmoil” and be still, but what I have come to know is that doing so has enormous benefits.   This re-boot, closing my eyes, being conscious of my breathing out, breathing in and surrendering my thoughts to the stillness, really places everything that is going on in perfect perspective. Five, minutes, ten minutes, whatever time I set aside, has huge benefits in changing my awareness of Perfect Spirit being present to bring order out of the chaos and bring clarity out of the fog.  This mini-Sabbath has a way of completely changing my experience of life and it was really as simple as re-connecting with the Spirit of God that is always present, right where I am, at every moment.

Re-boot your life today by spending some quiet time to God. You will be glad you did.

Affirmation: “Taking a deep breath I return to an awareness that God is in all that I am experiencing.”

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life.

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeker

 

