Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The human mind plans the way, but the Lord directs the steps.”    (Proverbs 16: 9)

One of my favorite places to visit is the colonial town of Williamsburg, Virginia. They have a maze built out of very tall hedges in the gardens of the historic Governor’s Mansion. I love to walk through it and try to find my way out. It is not easy. Some paths suddenly come to a dead end. As I walk through I may often think that I am on the right path when suddenly the path stops. I can go no further and now must turn around, retrace my steps and try something else. Time and again it seems I am left to turn around and try another way. With persistence, finally I am able to find the way out. Unlike a labyrinth, that gently and quite deliberately leads one to the center and then safely back out, the maze exists to trick us. Where the journey through the maze can be frustrating, the journey through the labyrinth is meditative, peaceful and full of great spiritual awakening. The maze may be fun, but the labyrinth is truly uplifting.

The path of life on which we all travel may often seem more like a maze, with its dead-ends and frustrating road blocks, than a beautiful labyrinth of exciting possibility and discovery. However, if we affirm that God is the power and energy that is directing our life and that our trust is that everything comes together for our highest good, then the flow of our life can be less likely to throw us off and stop us in our tracks. Life can be more about new insights and revelations that excite us as to the power of God working in our lives if we remember to place our trust in a God who walks with us every step that we take.

Our reliance on the power and presence of God, each moment, each day, thought by thought, will change our life’s prospective in a magnificent and beautiful way.

Affirmation: “Each moment by moment God is directing me toward a greater realization of my highest good.

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life.

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeker

