Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

“Jesus said to Simon Peter, ‘Simon son of John, do you love me?”     (John 21: 15)

I think it extraordinary that Jesus asked the disciple Peter, “do you love me?” As a matter of fact Jesus would ask Peter this question three times, which makes sense when you remember that Peter had denied knowing Jesus three times when Jesus was arrested.

Jesus is also asking each and every one of us, “do you love me,” and when he does he is also asking us “do you trust me?”

As we seek to answer this question truthfully it can cause us to do some deep soul searching. Do we trust that Jesus is always going to be available for us? Do we believe that the promises of Jesus great love, compassion, peace and comfort are going to be present for us when we need them? Do we trust that Jesus is hearing us when we pray, and even perhaps more importantly, do we believe he is answering our prayers? Jesus is not asking for our love so he will love us, for he is going to love us unconditionally, but when he does ask us he is doing so to help us to grow in our faith and to understand where we may have doubts, worries and fears.

For most of us our faith is a growing process. Each time we say “yes, Lord, I do love you, I do trust you,” we are reminded that Jesus is indeed available to us at every moment, in whatever way we may need, and that he completely understands our human concerns and challenges. Jesus lived a human life, so he knows what it is like to face the challenges, obstacles, upsets and emotional roller coasters of living in the fullness of our humanity. Our love of the Lord and our knowing his great love for us is his way of assuring us that indeed all things are possible when we place our belief in him.

We must never stop answering the question from Jesus: “Do you love me?”

Each time we answer that question with a resounding “yes,” our lives are forever changed. Jesus lived a life on earth, and lives with us today, with a restorative message of possibility, hope, and abundance.

“Do you love me? Do you trust me?”

“Yes, Lord, of course I do.”

Affirmation: “Yes Lord, I do love and trust you and I thank you for my amazing journey of life that I walk each moment with you.”       

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life.

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeker

