Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” Matthew 11: 29

One evening I was with the Young Adults group at the church and our Minister for High School students was leading our discussion. He began that evening with something I shall never forget. He started out by asking each of us to do some inner examination and then he asked, “What is going on in your soul today?”

This really struck me as I thought about it. With all of the things that we face and encounter in our daily lives our soul is often forgotten as we seek to find peace in our lives and make sense out of all that is happening around us.   Looking within to where we may have stored up our hurts and disappointments, and especially our fears, is important as we seek to release those emotions into the light of God’s unconditional love. Turning within to meet the ever-present Spirit, always as close as our very next thought, helps us to feel we have not been forsaken or forgotten. Our way back to living fruitful and inspiring lives can begin again when we acknowledge that God is bigger and more powerful than any challenge, fear, struggle or hurt we may be experiencing. When we can release those emotions to Spirit/God, being open to how God will respond to our willingness to let go, we can experience the Divine Presence in a deeper and more life affirming way.

One of my favorite hymns of the church is “It Is Well With My Soul.” I listen to this often to uplift myself above the concerns of my day and to remind myself that even in my distress my soul is well because that is where Spirit/God lives within me. My awareness that my heartbeat, in rhythm with the heartbeat of Spirit, and my every breath, alongside the breath of God, restores my vision, renews my energy and reminds me that I can, with assurance, place another foot forward.   This is the assurance of Spirit that the challenges of life cannot weigh me down. Each next moment, spent in the truth of Spirit/God’s uplifting presence, is a restorative moment because I have placed into that moment the bright Light of Divine Spirit.

Taking a few moments to slowly breathe, mindfully with Spirit, can move our faith forward into our living lives of new and exciting possibility.

It is well with my soul because all is well in the presence of Spirit/God.

The beautiful lyric to the hymn “It Is Well With My Soul” is poetry of hope and a prayer to how much we are loved unconditionally by God.

When peace like a river, attendeth my way,

When sorrows like sea billows roll,

Whatever my lot, God has taught me to say, it is well, it is well.

It is well with my soul.

It is well, it is well,

It is well with my soul.

 

May God haste the day when my faith shall be sight,

The clouds be rolled back as a scroll,

The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,

Even so, it is well with my soul.

It is well with my soul.

It is well, it is well,

It is well with my soul.

 Affirmation: My soul rests in the Divine presence. It is the light that guides my path forward this day and always. In living this truth I share my light with others as they share their light with me.”

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life.

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeker for daily affirmations of uplifting and positive faith.

