Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Jesus said to them, “Is a lamp brought in to be put under the bushel basket, or under the bed, and not on the lampstand? For there is nothing hidden, except to be disclosed; nor is anything secret, except to come to light.” (Mark 4: 21-22)

One of my favorites preachers to listen to, or even to read her sermons, is Barbara Brown Taylor. In a sermon I was reading recently she wrote, “We need to restore the power of belief.” And this really stayed with me. Our belief can be such a fragile thing. It can vary in degrees based on what we are experiencing at any given time. And yet, God calls us to continue to believe and to trust in Spirit’s wonderful power for change in our lives no matter what is going on for us.

Our power of belief is our willingness in having a courage that is built on a solid foundation of God. God’s light is eternal and always the same; I firmly believe that. We can diminish our experience of that light and our individual expression of that light, or we can even snuff it out completely. Often we do this because there are simply some things that are painful for us to see and experience. That is a very human thing to do and we mustn’t ever belittle or beat ourselves up when we do that. Some things are painful. Some things simply are uncomfortable and we don’t want to see them, so we pretend they just don’t exist. In the south we called that good ole “Southern Denial.” It’s a practice of pretending, but it bares no resemblance to the truth. I have always discovered in my own life that the more I need God the more God seems to show up. I love that. But I have also come to realize that I have to recognize and affirm that God is indeed present with me. My awareness of the power of God with me helps me to experience that power when and where I need it most. My awareness is also my prayer of thanksgiving to God for blessing me in ways that I may not yet understand, but I affirm that I will.

Our power of belief is the place that gives us courage to let loose God’s light within us and shine that light forward with a beam so bright that whatever it exposes we can know we have the ability to handle. Our belief is our trust in the power of God, right where we are at every moment, to walk with us through each step of life we take. When the road is smooth and flat and the going is easy, and when the road is rocky and has twists and turns that make us feel we are going in circles. Our trust in the presence of God to bless us abundantly can keep us going forward, knowing that the light gets brighter and the comfort and peace we desire will come.

Why can we handle it? Because God has not gone anywhere. God is still right here. God was with us then and God is with us now and God will be with us always. Make no mistake. To God that is not negotiable. That is a given. It is a fact and it is a truth beyond all truths. God loves you unconditionally and God loves to dance with you in the light of joy and peace.

Affirmation: “I know God is always with me at this and every moment. Recognizing God’s presence I see new and exciting possibility for myself and others. What a joyous experience it is.”

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life.

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeker for daily affirmations of uplifting and positive faith.

