Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

If you have faith the size of a mustard seed.”   (Matthew 17: 20)

Faith is a powerful word and idea to contemplate. We can have faith in many things, we can have faith in people, and we can have faith in God. All too often it has been people who have let us down and because of that experience we come to the false conclusion that God will also let us down. We begin to see God in the image of humans, with capricious intentions, instead of seeing God as the steady, forever constant, Divine Essence of all good. Personally I have never understood how people who don’t believe in the power of God in their lives make it through each day. Yes, I have grown up as a believer, as a churchgoer, and as a Christian for my entire life. I have constantly seen and experienced how the power of God has gotten me through some pretty tough times and delivered me to the other side of those mountains. Scriptures that speak of having faith and continuing to trust in God have become my mantras in those difficult times. One of my favorites that has always gotten me through the tough times, is Isaiah 41:10. “Do not fear, for I am with you, be not be afraid, for I am your God, I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my victorious right hand.” Those words and those powerful thoughts have often been on my mind, as they are yet today, for there is much going on in our world that could discourage and defeat us. We are not charged to have great faith, but even just a little, like a mustard seed. These seeds that take root in the soil of our thoughts can grow into amazing structures of possibility, reaching for the sky in magnificent grandeur.

Feel as though your faith is lacking today? Feel dehydrated of the Spirit of God in your life? Take some time to sit in the quiet, to imagine the presence of God within you. Visualize the seed of God’s possibility deep within and trust that God is at this very moment nurturing that seed and blessing you abundantly. Think of Spirit’s Divine and perfect Light washing over and through you. Visualize that Light cleansing you of all self-doubt, fear, darkness and especially negative defeatist thinking. As that Light washes through you see that Light as it encounters each and every cell, atom and molecule of your being and turning them into glowing beacons of health, prosperity, possibility and newness of resolve. The old is washed away and replaced with the new pure and loving presence that is truly the real you. Do this often and allow your spirit to be renewed.

The great artist Michelangelo said that in creating his magnificent statue of the David all that he really did was chip away all the stone that was around the David so that he could reveal what was hidden within. That is what we can do as we contemplate this power of Spirit washing through us. It chips away all the negative, burdensome ideas and thoughts we have accumulated and reveals the magnificent creation of God that we truly are.

Faith, our belief in the things that are not seen scripture tells us. Faith, the assurance that joy always comes in the morning. Faith, our knowing without a doubt that as beautiful creations of God we need not fear, for indeed, God is upholding us with Spirit’s victorious presence.

Affirmation: “My faith is a mighty seed that grows each day to bless and strengthen me.”

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life.

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeker for daily affirmations of uplifting and positive faith.

