Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then we will see face to face. Now I know only in part; then I will know fully, even as I have been fully known.” (1 Corinthians 13:12)

Recently I had my annual eye exam. Time to check my vision, order new contacts and make sure my glasses (for those times I put the contacts on hiatus) are up to date. It was nice to be told by the doctor that my vision has actually improved. I had sensed this, but having confirmation was great.

Seeing clearly to navigate our journey of life without mishap and to enjoy the creation of a loving God all around us is important. I think since I have also been studying Mindfulness Meditation, and practiced bringing my awareness repeatedly back to the present moment, (and away from distracted thinking) the world that I observe around me has gained exceedingly more meaning and beauty. The colors may not actually be brighter, the sounds more rich and the smells more fragrant, but they sure do feel that way to me.

As important as our physical vision is to seeing the beauty all around us, having a spiritual vision and connection with Spirit/God is also vital to our living the abundant life that Jesus promised us.

Our walk with Spirit/God is an exciting one. It is one that grows each and every day as we continue to build that relationship. Perhaps one of the most important practices for me is to begin each day with Spirit/God. First thing in the morning, before anything else leads me into distraction, I like to go into that quiet place and rest there with the Spirit that can perfectly prepare me for the day ahead. Sometimes I have many things to discuss with God in prayer and other times all I do is meditate on “thank you.” Either way, how we prepare to meet the day and its obligations determines how we will deal with the twists and turns that may meet us up ahead.

Our spiritual vision and understanding does get clearer as we practice being in the presence of our loving creator. Even in the rush of a busy day, driving through traffic, shopping in the grocery store, or with whatever we are doing, just remembering we are indeed “in the presence” can clear our way forward.

A wise and gifted teacher of mine years ago challenged us to throughout the day give conscious thought to our “being in the presence.” I have found that in doing so I do indeed see more clearly, hear more profoundly and experience Spirit’s grace more deeply.

Our scripture above ends with, “even as I have been fully known.” How comforting to realize that God knows us so deeply, loves us so unconditionally and in spite of our shortcomings holds us as a cherished citizens of Spirit’s creation.

Spirit/God has so much to reveal to us and is experiencing us fully and lovingly as we are experiencing it. I, for one, don’t want to miss out on anything.

Affirmation: “The fog lifts and the way is clear. Thank you God. That’s all, just thank you.”      

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life.

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeke

