Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

“I am with you always, to the end of the age.” (Matthew 28: 20)

Perhaps one of my all time favorite songs is “You’ll Never Walk Alone.” Written by Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II for their Broadway musical “Carousel” it has never failed to lift me up when I have felt down. It has always brought me feelings of being closer to Spirit/God in times of stress or upset and it has always brought sensations of joy and happiness to my heart. Just hearing this song causes me to think thoughts of possibility, new adventures and new hope. It’s as if in the darkest of situations suddenly I remember that there is a light up ahead that will shower me with a new day and a new realization that even in those darkest moments I had not been abandoned.

This song was sung (at my request) at my ordination into ministry and filled me with excitement as I contemplated what lay ahead for me. On Palm Sunday two years ago the song was sung by Trisha Yearwood on television in the spectacular program “The Passion” and the night I saw this I just had to rewind the DVR several times and re-watch her magnificent rendition. I was brought to tears of joy and feelings of the presence of God washing all around me.

Whenever I am about to embark on a new project, a new adventure and especially a move to a new location, this song seems to just naturally come to mind. I wonder if it’s authors knew when they wrote it what amazing impact it would have in the years ahead. It speaks of a great and wonderful truth for us today; that through our lives we can never walk alone, for Spirit/God is always right where we are at every moment. We need not look far off in strange places to find this presence, but we need only look within. The beating of our hearts, the moving of our breath is a wonderful sign of Spirit’s presence and activity in our lives. In what we are doing now, and where we are going, through the deepest valleys of life and through the highest mountains of experience, we are loved unconditionally.

God is always a God of “What’s next?” As close as our very next thought.  God is always a God of creating something wonderfully exciting for us to experience. And God is always right with us at every moment, giving us everything we need, just as, and when, we need it.

Close as our very next thought?  Yes, absolutely.  Thank you God.

When you walk through a storm

Hold your head up high

And don’t be afraid of the dark

At the end of the storm

Is a golden sky

And the sweet silver song of the lark

Walk on through the wind

Walk on through the rain

Though your dreams be tossed and blown

Walk on walk on with hope in your heart

And you’ll never walk alone

You’ll never walk alone

 Affirmation: “Thank you God that I know I never walk alone.

Rev. Jefferson Beeker

http://jefferson340.wix.com/index

We live our lives one thought at a time. Let each of those thoughts really count for something wonderful.

Be prepared to change your thinking and change your life.

Follow me on Twitter @jeffersonbeeker for daily affirmations of uplifting and positive faith.

